mailertrio.blogg.se

The geto boys-mind playing tricks on me
The geto boys-mind playing tricks on me












the geto boys-mind playing tricks on me

I feel I'm being tailed by the same sucker's headlightsĪll of a sudden, the villains depicted on record - and by society - were cast as the victims.

#THE GETO BOYS MIND PLAYING TRICKS ON ME MOVIE#

Prince decided it was the breakout record he needed for the label's flagship group.Įverybody know me, it's like I'm a movie star He wrote three of the four verses in this song, originally intended for his solo album until Rap-A-Lot Records founder J. It was hard not to stand out with a group that included Willie D, a former Golden Gloves boxer Bushwick Bill, a brash Brooklyn transplant and former breakdancer who stood less than four feet tall and Brad Jordan, a lyricist with enough street cred to wear the stage name of rap's most celebrated kingpin: Scarface. When "Mind Playing Tricks" came out, the Geto Boys were already legendary in the South. And " Mind Playing Tricks on Me," by the Houston rap trio Geto Boys, was bumping out of nearly every car with speakers in the trunk, putting a voice to the angst and paranoia that defined what it meant to be a young black man in America at the time. Rodney King's beating by LA cops was on virtual loop on the small screen.

the geto boys-mind playing tricks on me

John Singleton's Boyz n the Hood was playing on the big screen. But Tony Soprano wasn't the first gangster to expose his sensitive side to the world: That distinction came nearly a decade earlier, thanks to three gangstas of a different stripe. When HBO's drama The Sopranos began airing in 1999, the idea of a mob boss seeking therapy was revolutionary.














The geto boys-mind playing tricks on me